Current Lab Members

César I. Torres Ph.D., Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

Torres CV

Dongwon Ki Ph.D., Postdoctoral Research Associate

Dongwon Ki CV 2018

Sarah Arrowsmith,  Research Laboratory Coordinator

Carole Flores, Business Operations Manager

Megan Altizer, Ph.D. Student,  Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Diana Calvo Martinez, Ph.D. Student, Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Steven Hart, Ph.D. Student, Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Ethan Howley, Ph.D. Student, , Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Christine Lewis,  Ph.D. Student, Chemistry

Michelle Young, Ph.D. Student, Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Francisco Brown-Muñoz, M.S. Student, Chemical Engineering

Rick Kupferer, M.S.  Student, Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering

Lidia Peon, Graduate Student, Biology

Omar ArafaUndergraduate Student, 
Chemical Engineering, Grand Challenges Scholars Program

Patricia Ibalo, Undergraduate Student,  Molecular Biosciences and Biotechnology

Lincoln Mtemeri, Undergraduate Student, Chemical Engineering

Andrea Russell, Undergraduate Student, Environmental Engineering

Collette Wilson, Undergraduate Student, Molecular Biosciences and Biotechnology

Diana Zermeno, Undergraduate Student, Chemical Engineering

Affiliated Members

Andrew Marcus, Ph.D., Asst. Research Professor

Rob Stirling, Techno Economist

Graduate Alumni

Sam Nandakumar, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2017

Dr. Dongwon Ki, Ph.D. Environmental Engineering, 2016; Dissertation:  Anaerobic conversion of primary sludge to resources in microbial electrochemical cells 

Dr. Rachel Yoho, Ph.D. Biological Design, 2016; Dissertation:  Energy and the environment: electrochemistry of electron transport pathways in anode-respiring bacteria and energy technologies and climate change in science textbooks

Mohamed Mahmoud, Ph.D. Environmental Engineering, 2016

Scott Shearman, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016; M.S. Project:  Effect of phosphate buffer in single chamber microbial fuel cell

Ibrahim Halloum, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016; M.S. Thesis:  Microalgal biofilms for treatment of domestic wastewater and resource recovery

Karthik Ravishankar, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016; M.S. Project: Electrolyte pH impact on oxygen  reduction reactions in fuel cells using pyrolyzed  vitamin B12 as catalyst

Michael Waddington, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016; M.S. Project: Characterization of protein and carbohydrate digestion using high temporal resolution measurements in microbial electrolysis cells.

Dr. Bradley Lusk, Ph.D. Biological Design, 2015; Dissertation:  Thermophilic microbial electrochemical cells

Dr. Joseph Miceli, Ph.D. Biological Design, 2015; Dissertation: Building microbial communities and managing fermentation in microbial electrolysis cells 

Hitesh Malik, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2015; M.S. Project:  Pyrolyzed Hemoglobin as a catalyst for oxygen reduction reaction in fuel cells

Sharad Vellore Suresh, M. S. Chemical Engineering, 2015;
M.S. Project: ​Understanding anaerobic microbial hydrolysis using advanced electrochemical tools

John Pennington, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2015; M.S. Project: Electrochemical Characterization of Geoalkalibacter ferrihydriticus

Oluyomi Ajulo, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2013l M.S. Thesis: Electrochemical Characterization of Anode-respiring Geobacter sulfurreducens and Geoalkalibacter subterraneus

Sean Tropsa, M.S. Chemical Engineering, 2015; M.S. Project: Optimization of pyrolyzed Vitamin B12 catalyst composition and loading for Oxygen reduction reactions

Tyson Bry, M.S. Environmental Engineering, 2012

Dr. Jonathan Badalamenti, Ph.D. Microbiology, 2013 Advised by Dr. Krajmalnik-Brown. Dissertation: Microbial electrochemical cells for selective enrichment and characterization of photosynthetic and haloalkaliphilic ARB

Postdoctoral Alumni

Georgios Papacharalampos, 2017

Professional Staff Alumni

Undergraduate Alumni

Samuel Aguiar, B.S. Chemical Engineering, 2017

Francisco Brown-MuñozB.S. Chemical Engineering, 2017

Nadrat Chowdhury, B.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016
Honor's Thesis: 
Continuous hydrogen peroxide production using microbial electrochemical cells

Julia Thompson, B.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016
Honor's Thesis: 
Characterizing buffers to maximize peroxide production in the cathode chamber of microbial fuel cells 

Zixuan WangB.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016
Honor's Thesis: Electrochemical characterization of a high-current-density microbial biocathode with an air diffusion membrane

Denton HolzerB.S. Chemical Engineering, 2016
Honor's Thesis: The effect of pH, acetate, and buffer concentration on anode biofilms of Geobacter sulfurreducens PCA using advanced electrochemical methods

Mikaela StadieB.S. Chemical Engineering, 2015
Honor's Thesis: A sustainable approach to wastewater treatment using microbial fuel cells with peroxide production

Nicole NebitsiB.S. Sustainability, 2013

Suyana LozadaB.S. Chemical Engineering, 2013
Honor's Thesis: Increasing energy recovery in microbial electrochemical cells by studying the effect of ammonium on the anaerobic digestion of fermentable substrates. 

High School Students and Teachers

Victor Silva, 2013

Carlos Alvarado, 2012

Jonah Rucker, 2010-12

Jean Juang, 2011

Chris Doho, 2011

Gaurav Albal, 2011

Visiting Scholars

Sara Tejedor-Sanz, University of Alcalá, Spain, 2015

Taeho Lee, Pusan National University, Korea, 2014 - 2015

Yanping Hou, Sun Yat-sen University, China, 2014

Ornella Sosa Hernandez, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico, 2013

Laura Rago, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain, 2013

Qaiser Farid Khan, Quaid-i-Azam University, Pakistan, 2012-13, 2014

Alexandra Colin, École Normale Supérieure, France, 2013

Carmalin Sophie, National Environmental Engineering Research Institute, India, 2011

Venkata Yarlagadda, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, India, 2011

In Seop Chang, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, 2010

Laura Berthiaume, Ryerson University, Canada, 2010


Dr. Bruce Rittmann, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University

Dr. Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University

Dr. Andrew Marcus, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University

Dr. Konstantinos Tsakalis, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Arizona State University

Dr. Patrick Evans, CDM Smith